Welcome Anonymous
Fledgling
Fledgling
It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 8:39 am

All times are



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:40 am 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:29 am
Posts: 39
Location: England, UK
Hi All,

Got my first rig set up last night.
D3200, home made PIR trigger with programmed Arduino (3 triggers per event, .5 secs between and 5 sec delay after last one to allow flash to recharge), Cowboy Studio wireless triggers and a single sb-28.
Camera settings were f9, 1/200 and ISO 400 . Kit lens at 18mm.
Flash was 1/4, ISO400, and F9.

Locations was the base of a tree, which has been dug by a Fox, i know because i used my ebay special trail camera a few night ago and caught it. So i set the above up at the base of the tree hoping for a low angle shot.

For some reason, the camera battery was fully dead this morning, after the shot below.

i think i got the settings ok, as i'm happy with the lighting on the image.
I am sure the camera was set to auto off meter, so not sure why it died?

Gutted that it decided to stop after the test image.

Any ideas?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:11 am 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor

Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:23 pm
Posts: 1429
If your camera is going into sleep mode, you have two other culprits: your sensor could be continuously "waking" the camera or your battery is dying prematurely. I have used D3200s extensively and have been relatively impressed with the battery life. However, I did have one faulty battery that I couldn't rely on. Notably, it was one of the newer, supposedly better batteries, that come with the d3300.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:50 am 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:45 am
Posts: 17
Did you possibly use live view to set up the camera and then not turn that off?

Alternatively, are you sure there is nothing in your connection to the camera preventing it going into sleep mode? The most obvious one is having the focus connection continuously ‘made’. That keeps the camera awake. (You probably noticed that both focus and shutter need to be made to fire the shutter.)

Both the above will run down the camera battery.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:50 am 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:29 am
Posts: 39
Location: England, UK
Thanks for the reply. I don't think it's the sensor. Fully charged the battery and just put it out again. Fingers crossed it lasts


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:52 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:29 am
Posts: 39
Location: England, UK
RichardB wrote:
Did you possibly use live view to set up the camera and then not turn that off?

Alternatively, are you sure there is nothing in your connection to the camera preventing it going into sleep mode? The most obvious one is having the focus connection continuously ‘made’. That keeps the camera awake. (You probably noticed that both focus and shutter need to be made to fire the shutter.)

Both the above will run down the camera battery.

I have an optocoupler between the arduino and the shutter/focus wires so it shouldn't be continually "made" as far as I aware?
I know we did link the focus and ground together as per instructions, so the wires coming from the camera to the optocoupler are "shutter" and "focus/ground".
I think the culprit may have been a battery that wasn't charged.
I did use live view to set up, but switched it off after I think.
Let's see what happens overnight and go from there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:01 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:29 am
Posts: 39
Location: England, UK
So after being out for 3 hours, now the flash seemed to have died!When I walked past the sensor a few times when checking on it, it didn't fire any flashes (camera was firing though) then it fired 1 (instead of 3 flashes).
I took it all inside, and the flash seems to be fine and has battery!
I guess this could be the CS triggers? Thinking I may not have sat them in properly and screw them down so it isn't waking them up? As i did two test triggers when I set it up and it fired all 3 flashes as programmed on the sensor.

Also I think the camera wiring could be an issue, as on another thread TRL cam noted that all 3 wires from the camera must be connected individually, not merging them into 2?
This camera trapping is tricky!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:56 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 1014
Location: Nebraska
That is correct. On Nikon cameras the shutter and metering lines must be separate. If you grounded the metering line, the camera and flash will not sleep. So battery life on both will be short. If you want to connect the shutter and metering use two small signal diodes to isolate each. But the best way is to use two optocouplers and program your controller to wake the camera and flash about 500ms before shutter click.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:11 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:29 am
Posts: 39
Location: England, UK
TRLcam wrote:
That is correct. On Nikon cameras the shutter and metering lines must be separate. If you grounded the metering line, the camera and flash will not sleep. So battery life on both will be short. If you want to connect the shutter and metering use two small signal diodes to isolate each. But the best way is to use two optocouplers and program your controller to wake the camera and flash about 500ms before shutter click.


Thanks for the info.
I will order another optocoupler, then the fun task of wiring and programming. Maybe the flash was intermittent because it was running low on battery.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:09 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 4:24 pm
Posts: 745
Doublecheck the diagram on the PIR post- keep ground separate from Shutter and meter wires.

_________________
Casey

https://www.instagram.com/caseysmarttphoto/
http://www.caseysmartt.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:28 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 8:22 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Massachusetts
I found my Canon lithium ion batteries were not up to the task of cold weather use and would not last the night when the temps dipped below freezing. I started using a dummy battery and SLA battery to give me weeks of cold-weather use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are


Who is online

Array


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group