Welcome Anonymous
Fledgling
Fledgling
It is currently Wed Oct 28, 2020 7:45 pm

All times are



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 2:45 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 8
Hello everybody,

I've been setting up my DSLR camtrap nearby and know there are roe deer, fox, Badger and pine marten nearby.
But I still got some things I don't understand:
- when I turn off the PIR it still triggers the flashes? How can this happen.
- I've tried different programs on the PIR but they all trigger the same no matter how I put the settings. (for instance I put the PIR in nightmode, settings so that it would only trigger in pitch black but it still triggered during daytime (very sunny).
Last question; i' ve got a Canon 1200d with battery grip but the standby time is only 24 till 36 hours.. Is this right? Am I missing something? Are there other Canon cameras with better standby time? Or is there something I can do to upgrade the standbytime on this camera?
Thanks for reading and hopefully one of you can help me as I am planning to go on vacation in 3 weeks and would like to use this set :-D
Thanks in advance

Ps: picture of a hare at the site.. My first usable picture ;-)

Greetings Marc


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2020 3:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 1277
Location: Nebraska
Hi Marc.......It sounds to me like you have a wiring problem. What PIR are you using? Is the camera entering the sleep mode? A Canon camera with a grip would last many months in the sleep mode.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:04 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 8
Hello Jeff,

I am using a camtraptions V2.
I allready thought that 1 day was much too short, when i bought everything for the set my thoughts were they had to be able to be out in the field for at least 2 weeks.
I set the camera to sleep modus and i switched off the display, so i don't really know where it goes wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2020 3:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 1277
Location: Nebraska
Disconnect your PIR from the camera, turn the camera on and watch the camera display. You should be able to see it enter the sleep mode. If it does not, check your menu settings again.

If it does go to sleep then connect your PIR and make the same observation. If it does not go to sleep then check your cable configuration. I'm not familiar with the Camtraptions sensor, so I can't help much with that. Maybe somebody else can speak to that.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:13 am 
Offline
Royal
Royal
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:49 pm
Posts: 345
Does that camera have a stereo jack for the remote shutter? If so, make sure you use a 3 wire plug and not a 2 wire. Can't remember if it's on the Canon or Nikon cams, but I think it's the Canon where a 2 wire will hold the auto-focus on continuously and drain the battery.

_________________
Imagehttp://www.snapshotsniper.com/HomeBrewProducts.htm


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:17 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks jeff, i'll try that tomorrow!
@ ghoot, i'll have to check. how can i see the diffirence between the 2 cables?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 8:46 am 
Offline
Royal
Royal
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:49 pm
Posts: 345
marcbelt wrote:
Thanks jeff, i'll try that tomorrow!
@ ghoot, i'll have to check. how can i see the diffirence between the 2 cables?


If the cable going between the camera and the board has only 2 wires, then that's probably the issue. If it has 3 then it should be fine.

_________________
Imagehttp://www.snapshotsniper.com/HomeBrewProducts.htm


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 4:10 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:46 am
Posts: 1133
Location: Australia
Ok I think you are asking how can you tell if your cable is a 2 wire cable or a 3 wire cable? @ghoot said you need a 3 wire cable and l will certainly not disagree. If you can't tell by looking at the ends then you could carefully slice open just enough of the outer protective sheath and count the wires, when you finished you could use shrink wrap to reseal it. If you are worried about the seal not being 100% waterproof then goop the ends of the shrink wrap. Hope this helps and if you would like, post up a picture of the cable ends l am sure someone will be able to help you.

_________________
www.trevorwillistaxidermy.com
Vimeo: Trevor Willis


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 11:38 am 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 2:05 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks guys, i´ve checked the settings again and made some adjustments.
The problem must be solved because the battery was still full after 3 full days.

next challenge will be to get some focused pictures :rofll


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:07 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:46 am
Posts: 1133
Location: Australia
marcbelt wrote:
Thanks guys, i´ve checked the settings again and made some adjustments.
The problem must be solved because the battery was still full after 3 full days.

next challenge will be to get some focused pictures :rofll


Glad you got it sorted, don't hold back on any images it is a bit of a drought on the forums lately.

_________________
www.trevorwillistaxidermy.com
Vimeo: Trevor Willis


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ] 

All times are


Who is online

Array


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group