Welcome Anonymous
Fledgling
Fledgling
It is currently Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:06 am

All times are



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:31 am 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 993
Location: Nebraska
johnnydeerhunter wrote:
Lars Holst Hansen wrote:
You are using the SSII as is? I believe it is programmed with a 1 minute pause between events as default. I find that a bit limiting. I have therefore ordered a Picaxe 8M starting kit so I can reprogram the chip in the SSII. I will then also be able to change the shutter trip time (now 1 second I believe).

The stock programming on the SSII gives you either 1 minute delay (feeder) or no delay (trail). You're going to love playing with the programming, you can set up to shutter instantly with small pauses in between shutter pulses or even hold the shutter down for continuous shooting.


Very true.

Here is a simple programmer for the DIY guys. It is made to plug into a serial port on a computer. If you don't have a serial port then you'll need a USB to serial adapter.

Image

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:50 am 
Offline
Galapagos
Galapagos
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:50 am
Posts: 189
Great, reprogramming the chip seems to be easy, way easier than arduino programming. Could you post your code here? It would help me a lot to understand what exactly happens in the chip.

I'll probably try to build an external sensor for my trap, using one of those wireless camera triggers. I'll tell you what happened ;-)

_________________
__________________________________________________

Wildlife photographer from germany.

http://www.fokusnatur.de


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:45 pm
Posts: 4385
Location: Sussex County NJ
Here's a link to some sample programs for the SSII http://www.snapshotsniper.com/SSIIPrograms.htm

_________________
Image trailcamkits.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:17 pm 
Offline
Galapagos
Galapagos
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:50 am
Posts: 189
Thank you. It really looks not too difficult. I'll give it a try :-) Is there any special programming for DSLR shooting?

_________________
__________________________________________________

Wildlife photographer from germany.

http://www.fokusnatur.de


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:45 pm
Posts: 4385
Location: Sussex County NJ
You can use the always on programming but I think the program will need to be changed to eliminate the refresh or drastically lengthen the time between refreshes.

Sent from my C811 4G using Tapatalk

_________________
Image trailcamkits.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:04 pm
Posts: 7473
Location: Northern Minnesota
Thank you Jeff! Sure is fun playing with this XTI. Just ordered a telephoto converter kit made up of the Soft Wide Angle and the 2x, just to see what it will do, only $28.

_________________
Homebrew Reference Site
My Calendar Store
My Land


"Wilderness to the people of America is a spiritual necessity, an antidote to the high pressure of modern life, a means of regaining serenity and equilibrium."
- Sigurd Olson


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:01 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 993
Location: Nebraska
johnnydeerhunter wrote:
You can use the always on programming but I think the program will need to be changed to eliminate the refresh or drastically lengthen the time between refreshes.

Sent from my C811 4G using Tapatalk


That is correct. #5 on the web site list is the one you want. Just comment out the refresh section. It will work if you don't but the detector will wake up the camera every few minutes causing the battery to go flat in a few hours. You can also adjust the timing on the shutter pulse and if you are using a Nikon camera you can add a line to activate the metering along with the shutter.

If you are using remote strobes that have a sleep function (SB28, SB28DX, SB400, SB800, etc) you will probably have to lengthen the shutter pulse and set the camera on multi shot. The first click will wake up the flashes and the second one will result in a good picture.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:34 am 
Offline
Galapagos
Galapagos
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 12:09 pm
Posts: 181
TRLcam wrote:
... if you are using a Nikon camera you can add a line to activate the metering along with the shutter.

I did exactly this as I have never been able to get this working with my Nikon D200 and the type 5 chip for the SSII with the following program.
I used to do a workaround by connecting both the METERING and the SHUTTER wire to the second most left connector.
TRLcam wrote:
Image

But it is not how it is supposed to be connected!

I added two lines modifying:

Code:
IF MotionSensorInputPin=1 Then
   Pause 10
   IF TrailFeederSwitchPin = 1 Then
      DelayBetweenPictures=26
   Else
      DelayBetweenPictures=1
   EndIF
   Pause   TmeWaitAfterCamOnToPresShuter
   High ShutterPin         ' Take a Picture
   Pause 2000
   Low ShutterPin
   Sleep DelayBetweenPictures
   w2=0
EndIF

to
Code:
IF MotionSensorInputPin=1 Then
   Pause 10
   IF TrailFeederSwitchPin = 1 Then
      DelayBetweenPictures=26
   Else
      DelayBetweenPictures=1
   EndIF
   Pause   TmeWaitAfterCamOnToPresShuter
   High CameraPowerPin
   High ShutterPin         ' Take a Picture
   Pause 2000
   Low ShutterPin
   Low CameraPowerPin
   Sleep DelayBetweenPictures
   w2=0
EndIF

It seems to work fine with the D200 and wires connected as on image BUT NOT with my D700… I seem to remember having seen somewhere that the D700 is a bit special with its remote connection. Oh well if I cannot use a SSII with it I always have the Trailmaster.

_________________
Lars Holst Hansen, Field Biologist, Nature Photographer, Tour Leader, Guest Lecturer
http://kratlusk.blogspot.dk
https://www.facebook.com/biolars
https://instagram.com/larsholsthansen/
https://twitter.com/Lars_Holst


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:54 pm 
Online
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:56 pm
Posts: 1870
Location: Loveland, Colorado
TRLcam,
What is the total cost of this setup? I only have one first born child but I'm still interested. Thanks for all the great information!

_________________
An adventurous life is the only one worth living.
ArthurV

http://www.offthepavement.org


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:44 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 993
Location: Nebraska
co_bowhunter wrote:
TRLcam,
What is the total cost of this setup? I only have one first born child but I'm still interested. Thanks for all the great information!


This first born child, are they gainfully employed or good with a soldering iron? :tinkin

PM sent.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are


Who is online


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group