Welcome Anonymous
Fledgling
Fledgling
It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:36 pm

All times are



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:42 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:15 am
Posts: 3
Anyone know if possible to completely disable the "Camera Alive" function on TM1550-PS active infrared sensors which forces the camera to take pictures every so often. I have it turned down to the longest period (5 hours) but this is still a bunch of unwanted use of flashes over a long installation. Any way to keep the unit from forcing the camera to take photos at all except when actually triggered by the beam being broken?? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 12:00 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 972
Location: Nebraska
If the camera is taking a picture when the camera alive interval is up, your cable is wired incorrectly. The camera alive should only wake the camera and not trip the shutter. What brand/model of camera are you using?

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:36 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:15 am
Posts: 3
That would be nice! Cannot rebel xti


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:59 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 972
Location: Nebraska
If you are using the cable that came with the trailmaster, check the continuity of the three wires in the cable. Measure from one end of the cable to the other using an ohm meter. Tip of the 3.5mm plug to tip of the 2.5mm plug, ring to ring and sleeve to sleeve. Then, one end of the cable check for continuity between tip to ring, tip to sleeve and ring to sleeve. My guess is your cable is shorted from tip to ring. This would cause the camera to fire with the keep alive pulse and fire when motion is detected.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 3:47 pm 
Offline
Fledgling
Fledgling

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:15 am
Posts: 3
Hah. It does appear to be an issue with the cable, except it wasn't that the cable was shorted--I was using a 3.5 to 2.5 step down that was only transmitting through the lower band of the plugs. Replaced that with a different step down cable and testing it now appears to be working fine!

Thanks Jeff!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
Emperor
Emperor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:30 pm
Posts: 972
Location: Nebraska
Great. I knew it had to be something simple.

_________________
http://www.trlcam.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ Array ] 

All times are


Who is online


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group